Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

how to access indesign cs3 document through VC++

May 4, 2008 11:15 PM

Hello

i am new to VC++, i need to communiacte Indesign CS3 through VC++, for this what can i do? inorder to access indesign docuemnts,

i also need to access a Third party API for CS3 through VC++, for the two puproses, i dont have any idea, so

kindly help me

with regards,
ram

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 5, 2008 9:00 AM   in reply to (ramanathan.ct)
    Hi ram

InDesign exposes all its methods through a COM object. Don't know how to use it in VC++, but in C# I simply add a reference to the COM object (Adobe InDesign CS3 Type Library), whereafter I can instantiate (start up) InDesign, open documents and manipulate them in any way I want.

Others in this forum uses VB to access the COM object, so it should also be possible to use VC++.

BR
    Bo

|
    Mark as:
    May 5, 2008 11:06 AM   in reply to (ramanathan.ct)
    Hi ram,

You probably want to ask this question in the InDesign SDK forum--that's where the third-party API developers hang out.

You can work with the InDesign scripting object model using C++, but I think you're probably asking about developing InDesign plug-ins using the C++ SDK.

Thanks,

Ole

|
    Mark as:
    May 6, 2008 7:26 AM   in reply to (ramanathan.ct)
    My friends think you should ask about COM objects in a VC group, not a typesetters' hangout.

They also appreciate the odd capital and think l33tsp33k is so 2001.

|
    Mark as:
    May 6, 2008 10:10 PM   in reply to (ramanathan.ct)
    Hi ram,

I don't know if In-Math supports InDesign scripting, but you have not yet realized that the C++ API and the COM objects exposed to scripting (i.e., VBScript, C#) are TWO FUNDAMENTALLY DIFFERENT THINGS. Which do you want to use? If they gave you C++ header files, you want the SDK forum. That's a different forum. This is the InDesign scripting forum.

Thanks,

Ole

PS. jongware: teh 4LL C4PS pwnz ur 133+ :-)

|