• Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 29, 2008 7:09 AM   in reply to Skullmaker
    MOM! Chris is teasing me again!

:) Mordy

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 29, 2008 5:23 PM   in reply to Skullmaker
    As a novice trying to follow this thread and decide if I should upgrade from CS2 - do many of these bugs stem from using CS3/CS4 with the Leopard OS? I am currently using a G5/Tiger and would try to remain on Tiger for CS4.

Since I am a beginner, I cannot judge within a larger context if I should stay with CS2, or upgrade to CS4. Time is ticking since I am on a G5 and have the Education version of CS2. If I still want to qualify for the upgrade price I need to decide during this CS4 period.

What do you think? Is CS4 solid enough to last many years into the future for a beginner such as myself? It makes more financial sense to pay for an upgrade version once in awhile than suddenly take a big hit many years down the road to purchase a full version. Adobe's policy really forces you to spend money when you might not want to becasue they only allow you to update from three versions back.

Thanks for your consideration.

Mike

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 29, 2008 6:47 PM   in reply to Skullmaker
    I would say there are lost of things you can do with CS4 that makes life easier and the program more flexible I would recommend upgrading.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 30, 2008 4:00 AM   in reply to Skullmaker
    Thanks Wade

If the performance of CS4 matches, or excceds CS2 for me on my G5 - I would be happy for many years to come. In fact, at my level, CS4 would do me for the next 7 + years. I like some of the features and performance improvements that people are saying within Illustrator, and especially Phototshop. The Blob tool seems very compelling to me for the way I think as an artist. Hopefully, I won't encounter too many of the bug issues discussed because I might not reach that level of sophistication of this forum's viewers.