Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Premiere Elements 7 Track Matte Key Bug?

Oct 30, 2008 11:25 AM

I am somewhat new to Premiere Elements 7 and am using the Track Matte Key effect for the first time. If I set my background layer as Video 1, my foreground as Video 2 and my Matte as Video 3 everything seems to work as expected. However, if I use the exact same settings using other layers (video 2, 3 and 4 for example) the matte layer remains opaque. In my 1, 2, 3 example I even tried inserting a new video layer below the existing (so 1 becomes 2 and so on) and it immediately stopped working. Unless there is some step I am missing this seems like a bug.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 30, 2008 11:31 AM   in reply to (sphbecker)
    Yes it is a bug... been there since the earlier versions. And it was not fixed in this version even though Adobe are aware or it... which makes me think it is a difficult one to rectify.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 31, 2008 1:17 AM   in reply to (sphbecker)
    I thought this happens only if we have deleted the empty tracks in the project.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 31, 2008 7:22 AM   in reply to (sphbecker)
    What happens if you delete the clip with track matte added? If that is OK, reinsert the clip and add the track matte the "correct" way, or add the track matte to the clip in a separate project, export and insert into main project.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 31, 2008 7:01 PM   in reply to (sphbecker)
    By "correct" I merely meant the way that seems to work best, i.e. add the background to track 1, feature video to track 2 and track matte to track 3, in that order and don't insert or delete tracks afterwards.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 2, 2008 4:58 PM   in reply to (sphbecker)
    sphbecker - you areright. That is exactly the way the bug works.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 2, 2008 4:59 PM   in reply to (sphbecker)