• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

CFC - to init or not to init

New Here ,
May 17, 2009 May 17, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have long used custom tags, but now find myself creating components. I am not an OOP developer. I have read various "best practice" articles and am still looking for a compelling reason to add an init constructor to my CFCs. I attach two very simple code examples (test.cfc), the first shows how I currently use CFCs and the second, if I understand correctly, is how I should be coding.

<cfcomponent>

<cfset this.Price = 10 />

<cffunction name="getPrice" output="no" returntype="numeric">
     <cfreturn this.Price />
</cffunction>

</cfcomponent>

<cfcomponent>

<cffunction name="init" access="public" returntype="Test">
     <cfset variables.Price = 10 />
     <cfreturn this />
</cffunction>

<cfreturn variables.Price />
</cffunction>

</cfcomponent>

TOPICS
Advanced techniques

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Paul,

Wanted to let you know that your attachments/code samples did not post with the topic.

There are a few reasons that it's advisable to create an init method for your CFCs. A big reason, perhaps the most significant one, in favor of using init() is to initialize constants and other variables for your CFC as well as to return an instance of the CFC to the calling page.

Another reason is that, when you don't use it, ColdFusion will invoke init() once you call a non-static method of the CFC. In short, CF will call init() to initialize it, anyway (there could be a minor performance gain for using init() when you setup the object rather than waiting for CF to do it).