Skip navigation
agreen01
Currently Being Moderated

CMYK images in single/2 colour layout - how to?

Aug 11, 2009 3:00 PM

Using InDesign CS3, 504.

I'm creating a layout which will be offset printed either single (green and tints thereof) or 2 colour (the green+black and tints thereof) on white stock.  I'm a beginner single/2 colour user, and I'm not sure how I should deal with 4x CMYK images which need to be placed into my layout.  The images are company logos.  All images should be visible below as I inserted them into this post.

Should they be converted to tints of my single colour?  If so, what's the best way to do that?  And what format should they be?

Or if the client decides on 2 colours, what should I do?  Convert them to tints of black?  Would that be grayscale?

Any help much appreciated.

Tuffins Making a difference image_edited.jpg

Tuffins Ludlow Logo high res.jpg

LTC logo.jpg

acaster logo.jpg

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 11, 2009 3:13 PM   in reply to agreen01

For a one-color job (technically "monochrome") you have two options. The easiest is ... set your text in black, and leave the images unchanged -- even if it's going to be printed in green! In that case, you should notify your printer the images should not be color separated. He will understand, and his machine will convert them to grayscale. The color comes out of a can, and it does not matter if it's green or black. You should make your own text black, because if you make it green, it will also be converted into a shade of gray.

The drawback is that you cannot show your client a correct PDF preview (and you might have to repeat this story to him).

The second option is convert all images to grayscale, using Photoshop (a breeze) or Illustrator (for vectors -- a lot more work). A word of warning: if you use the Photoshop "Convert to gray scale" filter, the actual image still stays RGB or CMYK. Do not forget to physically convert to grayscale in the Image -> Mode menu.