• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can I scan an image from Photoshop CS4 (or another component?)

Community Beginner ,
Mar 18, 2009 Mar 18, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Photoshop (used to Corel PhotoPaint where I have a command under "File" to "acquire" an image from an external scanner).

Is there a way to do it in Photoshop or do I look for another app in CS4 for that purpose?

Thanks,
Rob

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

file> import?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Photoshop in and of itself is not scanner software. the only scanning ability Photoshop has is through a 3rd party scanning plugin that comes with your scanner. the plugin will still access the stand alone software.

the problem with using Photoshop to scan is that you are tying up a $1000 application as a UI for a $100 scanner. seems a bit silly. just use the software that came with your scanner and use that.

Now you can keep working in Photoshop while you are scanning.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,
Mar 26, 2009 Mar 26, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Or better yet use VueScan from http://www.hamrick.com.