Skip navigation
Sam Doran
Currently Being Moderated

Reconvert with new DNG Converter?

Nov 22, 2009 8:11 PM

If I converted a bunch of Canon 7D CR2 files to DNG using DNG Converter 5.5, should I reconvert from the original raw file with 5.6? What is different about the files, since the raw data should remain unchanged?

I thought the advantage of using raw/DNG was that the file itself stayed intact and that, as raw processing algorithms get better over time, the data could be "crunched" in different ways to make the image better. I am getting a sense now that some of my DNG files created using older versions of the DNG Converter (I have been using DNG for several years now) are somehow inferior to those created using the latest version of the converter.

Any information on this issue is greatly appreciated!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 23, 2009 8:36 AM   in reply to Sam Doran
    function(){return A.apply(null,[this].concat($A(arguments)))}

If I converted a bunch of Canon 7D CR2 files to DNG using DNG Converter 5.5, should I reconvert from the original raw file with 5.6?

Supposed you have any reason to use DNG instead of CR2 (for example you are using CS3 or older), then yes, reconvert the files unconditionally, from the CR2, not from the DNG (the new DNG converter would process the old DNG too, but the result would not better than it is now).

What is different about the files, since the raw data should remain unchanged?

Caution with "raw data". The raw image data remains the same, but the metadata changes. For example the information regarding the color reproduction is different.