Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Playback of clips only plays between 4 and 12 frames

Jan 28, 2010 7:07 PM

Hi all,

I am fairly new to Premiere, have used After Effects CS4 to produce some clips, but need something that handles editing better, and I thought I would give Premiere CS4 a try.

Unfortunately, I can't get Source or Sequence preview working.  I click the play button and the video plays for about 1/2 to 1/4 or a second (between 4 and 16 frames) and then stops, returning to the place where I hit play.  Almost like I had selected an in and out of 14 frames and hit "play in to out".

The duration of the playback is random, but never more than a full second.

The computer I am on is:

Model Name: MacBook Pro

Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo

Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz

L2 Cache: 3 MB

Memory: 4 GB

Bus Speed: 800 MHz

Chipset Model: GeForce 8600M GT   

Bus: PCIe

VRAM (Total): 256 MB

Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)

RAM Size: 4 GB

Type: DDR2 SDRAM 667 MHz

HDD: 500Gb 7200RPM (50% empty)

Apple system updater says I am up to date.
I have Adobe Premiere CS4 installed (trial) 4.2.1 (003 (MC: 166418))
Adobe Updater says I am up to date.

I have done the following to try and resolve:

* Tried different source files (mp4, mov)

* Tried rendering a video in After Effects CS4 as MOV H264 and importing

* Tried putting still frames on the time line and playing those (no effects, no transitions)

* Tried playing no video, just music

* Ensure that "clear all markers" is done on the source and preview monitors

* Ensure loop is not playing

* Force in and out markers to a 5 second clip and press play

* Full deinstall and reinstall of all adobe products (I had some CS3 left overs that I cleaned out)

* Deleted all adobe application preferences folders before reinstall

* Deleted plugin cache

* Created new projects and tried all the above.