Skip navigation
RNAexpress
Currently Being Moderated

Files take 5-12 min to open - stuck in "Import Snippet" popup

Jan 8, 2010 8:39 AM

My writing colleagues and I are using InCopy CS4 Version 6.

When trying to open new icaps sent from our designer, we find some of the files take forever to open.

They get stuck at the pop up box:

Open Document

Open document - Import Snippet

Time seems to vary by who is opening it and is not related to file size.

Some icaps open missing pages of content.

Others open immediately and are fine.

Eventually they usually all do open, but sometimes take as long as 12 min!

After editing, the idap is sent back to the designer and appears to function fine in InDesign.

A problem on the Designer's side, no?

What's going on? How to fix?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 9, 2010 8:00 AM   in reply to RNAexpress

I am a designer who is having the same issue. Since upgrading to InDesign/InCopy CS4 this issue has appeared in the Assignment files I send to my remote client on a PC.

I noticed that in the InCopy Assignments, looking at the Links panel shows there are a number of images that have broken links, with the letters 'DT' to the right. DT indicates 'Deleted text in a tracked change'. Information on tracked changes is minimal in the Help Menu.

I believe that this is happening because I am building from an older document that had links to a previous Assignment. Apparently my InDesign document has kept track of images that were embedded in deleted text.

I managed to reduce the issue by recreating all of the text frames from scratch. But every once and a while it would resurface, seriously slowing down our workflow.

I'm hoping to find out more from the community so that next time we produce this publication there are no snippet snags.

Thanks.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 15, 2010 3:31 PM   in reply to RNAexpress

I'm having the same issue whether it is opened in IC cs4 or cs3. This is a major problem for