Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Streaming HD with FMLE?

Apr 27, 2010 9:24 PM

I am using FMLE (for mac) with watershed ustream service and they claim that you can output HD to the web using FMLE. I am fairly new to the world of video streaming and don't entirely understand all of the codecs and what not, but is there somewhere where I can learn a little more about streaming this in High Definition?

My camera that I will be using is an HD (production quality) camera so that camera is not an issue.

I am also going from camera to camtwist then FMLE then the server

I'm using CamTwist because its free and allows me to switch between desktop view and live video camera easily.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 28, 2010 10:46 AM   in reply to lindsayanng

You can use a capture card that supports HD sizes and works on Mac. Blackmagic capture cards are one of them.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 30, 2010 10:28 AM   in reply to lindsayanng

To transfer the HD content from the camera to FMLE, you need a capture card capable of capturing HD sizes. This capture card will be available in FMLE and FMLE will encode the raw HD content and push it to FMS (hosted on Ustream in your case).

Camtwist is just a software, commonly used to apply graphic effects over a video. It may let you capture your screen in HD size but to capture a live feed you need a capture card.

You can use your camera in DV mode using firewire port of MAC. But DV is not HD.

FMLE doesn't support HDV out from a camera because it is mpeg-2 encoded, whereas FMLE needs raw input.

I hope things are clear now. Let me know in case of doubt.

|
    Mark as:
    May 3, 2010 12:47 PM   in reply to lindsayanng

If your aim is not HD, DV port on Mac book pro will work fine.

The dazzle device which you have given in the link is unlikely to work with FMLE. Please check with them and confirm whether they output raw HD or HDV.

Below are some of the unsuccessful attempts of using dazzle with FMLE: