Skip navigation
Oxidize
Currently Being Moderated

Java Error When Publishing

Jan 29, 2010 7:56 AM

So I have an applicational prototype that I need to have out by the end of the day today, and all of a sudden Flash Catalyst states that the project cannot be published due to an error. It also said to check the Code view to see what's wrong. Yesterday it did say that the error was a "Java Heap Space" error, but today there is absolutely nothing in the problems listing even though it still outputs that there's an error when publishing the project.

The prototype builds and runs in the browser just fine, but it's publishing that becomes the problem. I am not a Flex developer by any means, but as a user experience designer, I understand how to edit some of the coding, so if anyone could shed some light on this, I will do my best to fix the problem with any solutions that will work.

I appreciate the help guys!

-- Rick

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 1, 2010 6:10 PM   in reply to Oxidize

Hi Rick,

You've hit a bug in Flash Catalyst. Unfortunately, the error message doesn't tell you this, but FC is never suppost to write code that prevents you from publishing. So it's not your fault. The problems panel is there to help us diagnose the bug that you're hitting.

Does your project still fail to publish? If so, can you post it on the forum so I can check it out?

-Adam

|
    Mark as:
    May 12, 2010 7:08 PM   in reply to acath

Is there a way to get around this - such as publish the catalyst file in Flash Builder?

|
    Mark as:
    May 12, 2010 7:11 PM   in reply to danjahson

I am getting the same problem, and I cant seem to find the error in the application. I know that the file is crazy big. I am going to try to optimize images and file structure. I have crashed frequently, so I save ever few minutes. I don't try to recover anything, this usually makes the file bigger and might be contributing to the problems I am having.

|
    Mark as: