Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

How do I get a transparent background in my Illustrator file?

Apr 18, 2012 5:50 AM

I'm relatively new to Illustrator, (I'm working in CS4) and created a corporate logo for one of my clients.  When I place the logo into Photoshop or InDesign, the logo is in a white box.  How can I make the background transparent in the original Illustrator file?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 2, 2010 6:09 AM   in reply to alwasha

Ok so I do not know if you did this or not but if one just saves the after flattening the transparency then this will happen if one saves it as an eps this will happen but if one saves it s an .ai file without flattening the transparency then the art retains its transparency..

Like such same art one with the transparency flattened the other as an ai file without flattening the transparency.

Screen shot 2010-07-02 at 8.56.42 AM.png

I want to clarify he issue if you have effects applied to the art  and save as an eps this will occur with no effects then the eps should work fine.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 2, 2010 6:45 AM   in reply to alwasha

Without seeing the file it is hard to say. You could try to export it as a psd file.

But if you can post the file I can see if not if you can use the camera icon in the message composer to attach screenshots of you art and or layers panel expanded and the appearance panel also expanded that would be helpful.

If you can describe what steps you foloewed to create the art that might help.

Right now it is a little vague.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 2, 2010 10:29 AM   in reply to Wade_Zimmerman

Hold Shift as you place the file in InDesign or click on Show Import Options. You may have set the program to add a white background to placed objects. Changing Import Options for a placed file will set that as the default for future imports, where appropriate to the format of the placed graphic.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 27, 2011 10:08 AM   in reply to alwasha