Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

ffmpeg

Dec 19, 2008 7:50 AM

I have no experience with C/C++ whatsoever. I'm wondering if it's possible to compile ffmpeg with alchemy and make use of it in an AIR app? If so, would anyone be willing to work with me through the process?
Thanks

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 19, 2008 11:19 AM   in reply to Damon Edwards
    FFMpeg will be tricky to start with. You will need to get all the libraries it might use compiled with Alchemy. Then if you actually wanted the ffmpeg UI it would need to be written in flex/flash. I haven't given ffmpeg a try to see if it would compile smoothly.

First you will need to install and setup Alchemy
    http://labs.adobe.com/wiki/index.php/Alchemy:Documentation:Getting_Sta rted

Download the ffmpeg source
    http://ffmpeg.mplayerhq.hu/download.html

Turn alc-on

Try compiling the ffmpeg running ./config and make

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 23, 2008 2:40 PM   in reply to Damon Edwards
    Hi!
    As far as I understood Alchemy+AS3 allows to create an encoder+uploader for video files.
    Questions:
    1) is it possible to create a browser-based application? (e.g. like a FlixPublisher - http://www.on2.com/index.php?402 )
    2) does it make sence to create a video-converter with flash? I think it would work rather slowly.

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 25, 2009 1:49 AM   in reply to bert(812)

I want to a player for alchemy with c/c++,I don't know?

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 7, 2010 8:34 PM   in reply to Damon Edwards

Anyone got an update on this?? Using Alchemy to port ffmpeg into Flash/Flex app.?

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 8, 2010 9:26 AM   in reply to Damon Edwards

After excluding mpegvideo_xvmc.c in libavcodec's Makefile I was able to build everything and link ffmpeg_g.

My configuration: ffmppeg 0.5 plus zlib-1.2.5 and bzip2-1.0.5 with a simple ./configure.

Best regards,

- Bernd

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 17, 2010 11:25 AM   in reply to Damon Edwards

Hi Damon,