Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

After Effects and Rotoscoping causes fps loss in info panel

Aug 30, 2010 3:06 PM

Hello,

I am pretty new to after effects, so please take it easy on me if this is an easily fixed issue or if I am doing something wrong. Here is my whole process.

I have a canon xl2, shooting in 24p with 2:3 selected. I then import the video from the camera to premiere using capture. This was filmed at 16:9.

In PP I open a new project, I use DV - 24p Widescreen 48khz. I have the time code set to auto detect in capture.

I then import the captured video to after effects. I am trying to get better at rotoscope brush, so this is where the problem is.

I import the file, drag the source to the new composition icon, then double click the layer in the composition.  I select rotobrush and brush the object.

I then select play, which will go thru and play the file, adjusting the rotobrush. As I view the file, my info panel is up and it begins by showing 23.976 (realtime). The preview panel is showing 23.98 fps.

After a few seconds, the rotoscoping fails and the info panel shows my actual fps vs the file fps.  SO in red it shows something like 7.005/23.976 NOT realtime.

I've tried to do some research on this, and I am not sure if everything is set up right.  I have read that its best to work on noninterlaced video in AE, i believe it is seperating.  In interpret footage it is showing under fields and pulldowns area: lower field first and then it is removing pulldown with WWSSW.  Showing a effective framerate of 23.976.  Under frame rate area i have selected [conform to frame rate] and 29.97 is in the window. Under pixel aspect i have widescreen 1.21.

I know this is a huge wall of text, but I'd rather swamp you with info then not have enough.  Any ideas on what I am doing wrong? Why the fps drops out so much on the rotoscope? Also note, I am only losing fps after pressing play to have rotoscope find the edges itself.