Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Adobe App's won't quit.

Oct 8, 2010 5:05 AM

Suddenly all of my Adobe app's, (Illustrator, Photoshop, Acrobat), refuse to Quit.

When I choose Quit, they all just hang indefinately, so then I have to 'Force Quit', which works but I then I get that dialogue box asking if I want to report the problem to Adobe. Anyone else getting this? and is there a fix?

Mac G5, OSX 10.5.8, Adobe CS4 Suite.

Thanks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 8, 2010 6:07 AM   in reply to James Blonde

Run Disk Utility (in application/utiliites) and repair permissions.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 12, 2010 11:50 AM   in reply to James Blonde

Ha! I've been ranting about this aspect of Adobe programs since December of 2008!

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/313153?tstart=0

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 13, 2010 3:42 AM   in reply to James Blonde

Out of curiosity have you tried a new user acount?

|
    Mark as:
  • yepexactly
    5 posts
    Dec 16, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 16, 2011 3:15 PM   in reply to James Blonde

This has been happening for years

Adobe applications take minutes to quit, refuse to quit, on "Force Quit" they will become inaccessible  but they won't show as inactive.  Meaning you can't access them, but they still show in the dock as though they are launched and you have to restart to be able to launch them again. 

The worst are Adobe Acrobat and InDesign followed by Photoshop, Illustrator some and Bridge is typically pretty good.  It's a much more common complaint than you see on the boards here.  It has been and is ongoing.  I have encountered it on various Mac platforms and with various versions of CS. 

Adobe will claim it is a system error or an install error, etc. . .   The problem is that it is ONLY Adobe applications that I have every encountered this with.  And it is always the SAME Adobe applications. I do find that it is even worse when the computer is connected to a server.