Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

ID CS5 for designing websites?

Oct 14, 2010 6:39 AM

Hi there all you helpful people!

I have asked this question before - but it was a while ago and I wondered if things had changed for anyone.

Is anyone using IDCS5 for designing/prototyping websites?

I am a print and web designer and use ID for all my print work and FW for all my web work.

Increasingly I am getting more and more frustrated with FW - so many simple things that it does sooooooo badly compared to ID.

Now that IDCS5 has the ability to design in pixels there is the option to design websites in ID, however, it will not export to png format and I know that will make it hard for our coders to use.

Does anybody have any experiences of using it to design websites and if you do, what workflow do you use?

Thanks in advance.

Tom

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 14, 2010 6:59 AM   in reply to tpstom-ggDek1

It can't export to PNG -

BUT it can export to PDF and you can save to PNG from there.

Only if there was a way to export to a Layered PDF and then save a layered PNG would total awesomeness occur.

InDeisgn is not the right tool for Web design or stuff.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 14, 2010 8:24 AM   in reply to tpstom-ggDek1

Well others might have other ideas. I've heard of some people having successful workflows with designing websites or at least templates from InDesign.

Whether they post here or not is another thing?

|
    Mark as:
  • Rob Day
    3,123 posts
    Oct 16, 2007
    Oct 14, 2010 8:24 AM   in reply to Eugene Tyson

Only if there was a way to export to a Layered PDF and then save a layered PNG would total awesomeness occur.

I use this AppleScript which exports an ID page to a matching layered Photoshop file. There's a PDF export preset, which is optimized for the export, and a readme included:

http://www.zenodesign.com/scripts/PagestoPSLayers.zip

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 14, 2010 8:25 AM   in reply to tpstom-ggDek1