Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Save PDF file with all data typed into form by using Adobe Reader! HELP!

Feb 5, 2006 5:22 PM

Hello,

This is my first time here and I have a little problem. I designed the form in the Adobe LiveCycle Designer 7.0 and saving it as dynamic PDF. All I want is to fill it out, save a copy of that in hard drive and then email it as a attach file. I don't want any XML data file or any thing else, I want real completed document in PDF. That's all!

We can save a copy of completed document in Adobe Acrobat Pro but how we can save it in Adobe Reader?

My form is some thing like this (link below), every time you open it in Adobe Reader, it will tell you that "You cannot save data typed into this form." and let you print it.

Example: http://www.whitehouse.gov/omb/grants/sf269.pdf

But at this link

http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf

you can cancomplete this form and save a copy of it into your hard drive with all data typed for ever. Yes by using Adobe Reader! But I have a no idea HOW?

Does anybody have any suggestion? Please any help solving these problems would be most appreciated.

Thanks again,
Daniel

Replies 1 2 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 5, 2006 6:28 PM   in reply to (jimdaniel)
    Hi Daniel,

The difference is that the IRS forms have been passed through Adobe LiveCycle Reader Extensions which allows anyone with Adobe Reader to save the form and the form data. When you open your form - there is a message bar at the top that says "You can not save data typed into this form." Whereas if you notice the message bar in the IRS form it says "This form has document rights applied to it. These rights allow anyone completing this form, with the free Adobe Reader, to save their filled-in form locally".