Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

File write works if testing in Flash but not if SWF is launched directly

Contributor ,
Jan 09, 2011 Jan 09, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm new to Air so forgive me if this is something rudimentery.  I wrote an air application in Flash, that writes to an XML file.  When testing it within flash (with in the Air debugger) everything works perfectly, but if the swf or exe is launched outside of flash the write functionality no longer functions.   Pleas ehlp me if you can.

Best regards,

Chris McLaughlin

TOPICS
Performance issues

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jan 10, 2011 Jan 10, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm having a very similar problem. Any calls I make to the air file api return this error:

VerifyError: Error #1014: Class flash.filesystem::File could not be found.

My app functions perfectly when I test in air debug, otherwise nothing works... ...

Please Help!!!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Contributor ,
Jan 10, 2011 Jan 10, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Did you publish the file? I ask because that's what solved my problem and uh . . . cause everybody has the right to be uniformed, I didn't realize that publishing in the Air sense is very different than publishing a flash file. It involves creating an installer. If you knew that already don't laugh. If not then maybe that's the first step.

The other thing that I've read with respect to newer operating systems is that writing to certain directories is blocked and the recommendation is that you use the application storage directory.