Skip navigation
cnreily14
Currently Being Moderated

Help with circles

Feb 24, 2011 9:05 AM

I have Creative Suite 5 for students and need help with creating a circle. I know how to draw an eclipse but that is not permitted. I am not asking for someone to do my homework I just need some guidance on how to make a circle and I will do the rest please someone help me. I am new to the whole adobe design suite.

Thank you

Nicole

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 24, 2011 9:10 AM   in reply to cnreily14

While d with the elipse tool, hold down shift, to constrain this to a circle.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 24, 2011 9:11 AM   in reply to cnreily14

Use oval tool (8th one down), hold shift key, click & drag. If your class hasn’t prepared you for this exercise, you paid too much for it.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 24, 2011 9:12 AM   in reply to cnreily14
    I know how to draw an eclipse but that is not permitted.

Hmmm? Use the Ellipse tool and hold down Shift. Is that "permitted" and who says so?

Or double-click on the Ellipse tool and enter the values manually.

By the way, an Eclipse will just take you to where the sun don't shine; not a good place to go :-)

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 24, 2011 9:55 AM   in reply to cnreily14

Nicole,

To create a circle without drawing an ellipse (using the Ellipse Tool in any of the ways suggested so far is obviously cheating), you may:

1) Create a square with the Rectangle Tool using the desired W/H values or dragging while holding down Shift, then Effect>Convert to Shape>Ellipse (without Extra Width/Height), and then Object>Expand Appearance and Ungroup.

2) Create a Polar Grid with the Polar Grid Tool (0 Concentric/Radial Dividers) and Ungroup (as may times as needed).

3) Type a full stop (or a period if you are over there) in a suitable font, then Type>Create Outlines, and Ungroup/Object>Compound Path>Release/whatever else may be necessary, and adjust the size.

4) etc will hopefully follow.

Is this the new Circle Thread?