Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

I would like the ability to save a thumbnail preview for use by the OS on image export.

May 3, 2011 12:12 PM

Hello,

I have been using Lightroom for about three years and one of the many features I would like to see is the ability to save a thumbnail for the image while exporting an  image.  This is an option available in other leading software, and also happens when you save an image in Photoshop.  It isn't a huge issue when using a Mac because you have the option for the finder to force an image preview.  It is however an issue when your client uses Windows since the OS doesn't allow the user to force a thumbnail preview.

The client is king, especially with the economy and market the way that it is.  If the client wants thumbnails on their images in their OS, the photographer needs to be able to deliver.  I don't expect myself or any other photographer to have to open files in Photoshop and save them to force a thumbnail for the image.

This software is in no way as expensive as Photoshop and it does have amazing features, but it is also not cheap and is intended for working professionals.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 3, 2011 12:29 PM   in reply to mongoman1

What type of images are you exporting that don't have thumbnails visible in Windows for you client?  And are you asking for an embedded thumbnail or a separate image thumbnail file with a different name and/or a different folder?

I use Windows every day and I can see thumbnails of my export JPG images if I open up the folder in Windows Explorer and set the View options to Large Icons.  How are you delivering the images to the client and how are they trying to view them in Windows that doesn't have thumbnails available?

|
    Mark as:
    May 3, 2011 1:38 PM   in reply to mongoman1

Examining exported TIFs and JPGs from Lightroom 3.4 in ExifTool, both have embedded thumbnails in them.