Skip navigation
Brruce
Currently Being Moderated

Java Implementation

May 6, 2011 8:23 AM

I am just starting out with XMP. I have read through the documentation, downloaded and reviewed the SDK, and read through numerous forum entries. The API looks great, but I was wondering why only 1/2 the solution is provided for Java Developers? To me the more important (and technically challenging I think) is the XMPFiles piece. Parsing XML, while tedious, is comparatively straighforward.

Two questions:

1. Does Adobe plan to provide a Java implementation of XMPFiles any time soon?

2. Are there any open source OR at cost Java libraries that provide the XMPFiles capabilities?

Many Thanks,

Bruce.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 31, 2011 1:06 AM   in reply to Brruce

It is only the XMP Core part of the tool kit that is has been converted to Java. To my knowledge there is no plan to do this. And given the complexity of the XMP Files part, I don't think it will happen anytime soon.

I have no knowledge of any free or commercial Java versions of XMP Files.

If you want to use the XMP Tool Kit with Java, you have to make a JNI. It's not too hard. Here is the basic steps, there are differences between the platforms:

Mac:

1. You need to make dynamic versions of the XMP Core and XMP Files. Duplicate the targets and make the required changes (5 or so I think)

2. Create a Java JNI project where you basically map the functions you need to access.

3. Create an Xcode projekt, where you include the C++ header you get from javah. Implement the C++ code to call the functions in the XMP Toolkit. You can choose the you make it  static link the dynamic XMP libs into the JNI. If you don't you need to make sure that your JVM also has access to the dynamic XMP libs (this makes it harder to distribute and maintain)

PC: