Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

How to select only objects within a selection marquee?

May 24, 2011 8:40 AM

I am a new user of Illustrator CS5, switching from Freehand. I am trying to find out if there is a way to select only the objects within a selection marquee? In AutoCAD you can make a selection window from left to right and only those objects entirely within the window are selected. If you window from right to left all objects that are "crossed" or touched by the window are selected. Is there a similar technique in Illustrator?

Currently I have to select the objects, then go back and hold the shift key to deselect the object I don't want, or lock layers to prevent extra objects getting selected.

Replies 1 2 3 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 24, 2011 10:46 AM   in reply to Ngaio9

Try the lasso tool

Picture 6.png

Works better than a marque as you are not limited to only square shapes.

|
    Mark as:
    May 24, 2011 11:00 AM   in reply to Ngaio9

It simply makes selections.

|
    Mark as:
    May 24, 2011 11:17 AM   in reply to Ngaio9

Ngaio9 wrote:

I'm new to Illustrator, what does the lasso tool do?

It doesn't do what you want that would be a good option if there were a way of invoking it with a keyboard toggle.

Th lasso tool does pretty much what one would expect it to do it selects any object or path that falls within the area you outline with the tool on the canvas so if the object is only partially in the area it will be selected.

It would be nice to have a toggle to select only objects that fall completely within the selection area or perhaps even something more sophisticated like settings for that fall within the selected area but only on the current layer or of  certain color fill as well,etc.

Only way to do what you want is to use the layer panel and that can be a bit blind sided. At least that I know of and of course an entirely different process than you desire.