Skip navigation
Leapstepman
Currently Being Moderated

Need Info on RGB to CMYK

Apr 19, 2011 12:49 AM

Hi,

I am new to Illustrator (CS5) and not fully comfortable with RGB vs CMYK.  For instance, I created a logo for use on the web using Document Color Mode: RGB where my background color in RGB is 0, 0, 130.  When I create a Print document using Document Color Mode: CMYK and copy the logo into the print document, it converts that background color to CMYK (C:100, M:98, Y:16 K:18) where the RGB is now (44, 45, 111).

Is there a way to get a closer match to the original RGB color 0, 0, 130?  When the specifications for the print advertisement says images must be in CMYK,  I hope I am accomplishing this by using the Print Document Color Mode of CMYK vs RGB?  I feel somewhat ignorant on utilizing the RGB vs CMYK color modes and if anyone can give me a tip on what techniques they use to get a closer match of colors for RGB to CMYK or vice versa, I would love to hear it.

Thank you,

Keith

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 19, 2011 9:38 AM   in reply to Leapstepman

Keith,

First, be aware that you have posted to the Photoshop forum, not the Illustrator forum. The general concepts of color and color management are the same across the spectrum of digital imaging. However, its implementation is slightly different from application to application, so you may also want to post your question to the Illlustrator forum.

[EDIT: Brain fart on my part... This is the color management forum, NOT the Photoshop forum, so you are in the right place! (I spend most of my time in the Photoshop forum; I lost track of where I was...)]

That said, you're running up against a general concept: color gamut.