Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Import multiple Word docs to multiple pages with same master page?

Jun 10, 2011 1:42 PM

Hi, I should start by saying I have no scripting experience.  However, I am wondering if there is a simple script available for the following issue:

I have set up a master page with three linked text boxes. Right now, I use Cmd+D to select a word file, and then Shift+click in the first box to place the text on the page. But I have 125 pages that are exactly the same layout, just different Word files to be imported. I could repeat this process 125 times, but I am wondering if there is a way to tell InDesign to create 125 pages using Master Page X and import one file for each?

I am using InDesign CS5 v 7.0.4 on Mac OSX Snow Leopard v 10.6.7

Thank in advance for any help you can offer,

NW

Replies
  • John Hawkinson
    5,572 posts
    Jun 25, 2009
    Jun 12, 2011 12:44 AM   in reply to Neil Weinberg

Well, it's not too tough. Let's assume you've created the pages with master page X via the regular UI, since that's easy enough.

Then for each page, you must override the master page item and then place the document within it. Untested of course:

var
        d=app.activeDocument,
        p=d.pages,
        i, frame;

for (i=0; i<p.length; i++) {
        frame = p[i].appliedMaster.textFrames[0].override(p[i]);
        frame.place(new File("/path/to/page"+p[i].name+".doc"));
    }

Which should place page1.doc in the first textframe on the master applied to page 1, page2.doc on page 2, etc.

It's a shame you can't just use Data Merge for this. Oh well.

|
    Mark as:
  • John Hawkinson
    5,572 posts
    Jun 25, 2009
    Jun 14, 2011 9:22 PM   in reply to Neil Weinberg

Well, you can always submit a feature request (http://adobe.com/go/wish). Anyhow, if any of the above is unclear, just ask. It's a simple script, so it's not a problem to go line-by-line if that's what it takes.

|
    Mark as:
  • John Hawkinson
    5,572 posts