Skip navigation
cp94550
Currently Being Moderated

Downloaded new site in to Dreamweaver - Where are the templates?

Jun 18, 2011 10:18 AM

I PRE-APOLOGIZE FOR ALL INCORRECT TERMINOLOGY.  I have no clue what I'm doing!

I am completely new to Dreamweaver, web updating, all of it.  We have an existing website that is maintained by one of our employees, but he isn't always the fastest at getting the updates posted.  I downloaded Dreamweaver and imported the site, setup server, etc. and have been making some changes to the site.

I am noticing that some things were built through a template - The address/header across the top, the contact info/footer across the bottom - or at least that's what I'm guessing since the un-editable regions have a little yellow box that pops up when I hover over it that says "Template:PWGSTemplate" .  I wanted to update the header but I can't find that file in my Dreamweaver folder.  I am able to open other pages in the site, and they show the header, but it doesn't allow me to click on that area to edit it.  I Googled and someone said to go to Modify>Templates>Detach from Template.  By doing this I was able to make changes to that area of the site, but those changes are only on that particular page, not on the entire site. 

I have searched through all of the folders that downloaded when I imported the site in to Dreamweaver and I can't find any that are labeled Template.  I don't know if I need to contact the previous web guy and ask him if he has the Templates or if am just didn't download the correct information when I imported the website.

Again - apologies for incorrect terminology.

In case it makes a difference - I am using Dreamweaver CS5.5 on Mac.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 18, 2011 10:22 AM   in reply to cp94550

It is not unusual for the template not to be loaded on the server, it is not required.

Go to the employee and have him give the the .dwt file.

Gary