Spam Report Thread [5] has been locked without explanation, and no new thread has been opened to replace it. I have commented this in here
http://forums.adobe.com/message/3796780#3796780
but that thread is not very much visited.
As I seem not to be alone in thinking that a Spam thread serves very useful and necessary functions in these forums, I am again taking the liberty of opening a new version of it. As before, those with responsibilities in the forums may wish to delete it, to replace it by one of their own, or to keep it. If they decide the later, I would suggest adding a link to this thread in the recenty locked one.
Well, okay, but I just don't see why you should have to open a new thread for what is essentially a pipeline for notifying the Admin of spammers... I wonder if the old thread was locked by accident.
This person has posted camera-related spam, but it's still mystery meat nonetheless: http://forums.adobe.com/people/Camille%20Wu
-Noel
Noel Carboni wrote:
Well, okay, but I just don't see why you should have to open a new thread for what is essentially a pipeline for notifying the Admin of spammers... I wonder if the old thread was locked by accident.
...http://forums.adobe.com/people/Camille%20Wu
-Noel
Simply because there seemed that nobody else was willing to do it. And I don't expect to see any explanation of the reasons for closing the previous one without providing a new one.
The last thread somehow fell off my radar. I use NetNewWire to follow the forum. New posts are usually tracked to older threads, except when it doesn't. A moment of silence for the lost newsreader capability. I personally, prefer the referrals from the post abuse forum, but I have no problem with people posting to a spam thread. The quicker we remove spam, the better.
As I said in my opening message here, the previous spam report forum [5] was misteriously closed.
Many people report spam here because JC has said that it is more useful for him, specially if the link to the spammer is given.
We all agree that the sooner the better. That's why in another thread I propossed appointing "moderators with limited powers", the limit being to remove messages that are obviously spam, but the idea hasn't received much attention.
Many people report spam here because JC has said that it is more useful for him, specially if the link to the spammer is given.
We all agree that the sooner the better. That's why in another thread I propossed appointing "moderators with limited powers", the limit being to remove messages that are obviously spam, but the idea hasn't received much attention.
<a href="[spam link 1 removed]">Microsoft Office 2007 Marking</a>
<a href="[spam link 2 removed]">Office 2007 Development</a>
pwillener wrote:
So you think spamming right here in the spam thread is best...?
Not the first case...
Pat, thanks for providing a link from the old Spam thread to this; I didn't know you had the power to enter in locked threads. How about changing the links in "Report spam" buttons such as the one near the top of the main page of this forum so that they point to this thread and not to the locked one?
This spammer thanked me - presumably for making a thread in which he could spam about something so unrelated that it only makes sense as SEO spam.
http://forums.adobe.com/people/zaubererschweiz
-Noel
a user with a url as a user name (how could THAT possibly slip by without being flagged for special characters?!!)
anyway... i can't link directly to him... here's the post in the soccer (futbol) thread:
http://forums.adobe.com/message/3804976#3804976
the user appears to be named h**p://www.MaddenWii.com (replace the "**" with "tt", please delete after you get it!)
http://forums.adobe.com/people/Upertuperdfu
guy likes to put spam links as anchor tags over periods in his sentences. and in his profile. just dump him and his posts (imho!
)
http://forums.adobe.com/people/nick%20argent
Each of his posts include his web address and some sort of key phrase obviously intended to help with SEO.
"flash designer"
"london graphic designer"
"london flash designer"
His last two posts today were not even formed properly.
He might be a legitimate poster but his links are too spammy.
Very active today in the Reader forum:
http://forums.adobe.com/people/jiliom
This guy looks a professional spammer to me because there is nothing wrong in his website yet he is asking a silly question to post a spam link!!!
<http://forums.adobe.com/people/Bert%20Gonzalez1>
Very ingenious method!
dave milbut wrote:
he's still there:
That is not a valid user link.
pwillener wrote:
dave milbut wrote:
he's still there:
That is not a valid user link.
For whatever reason, it seems you can't get to the user link. Possibly something he did. Try looking at the last entry in this thread, he's there:
North America
Europe, Middle East and Africa
Asia Pacific