Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Creating and Saving Data

Aug 20, 2011 7:34 PM

I don't know if this is the correct forum for my question, but it seems it may be.

I'd like to know if there's a way to take data entered into a field in flash, save it, and call it later via an object.

I don't want anyone to walk me through it if there is, that's not what I'm asking. I'm just asking what I need to know in order to do this. I'd like to build a certain flash app that takes information (such as a name, paragraph, and/or sentence) saves it, and can then be recalled when a user clicks a button... even if the user has closed out the application.

I'm still relatively new to flash, I know enough to get by on basic projects, but I want to expand my knowledge so I don't end up stuck in a beginners rut.

Would this require using PHP and Flash? Or can it be done entirely in flash via exporting data to a designated external file?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 22, 2011 8:19 AM   in reply to StoneChameleon

Hi

This is easy to do with sharedObject - stores data locally and can be recalled on App restart.

Hope it helps

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 2, 2012 7:54 AM   in reply to The Feldkircher

hi The Feldkircher,

if i use shared object, can i upload my swf to web, and if close and open that shared object value wil be updated? i can use as storing for values in shared object in net uploaded swf?

pls clarify me.

Thanks and Regards,

Syed

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 2, 2012 3:31 PM   in reply to rahimhaji

Hi Syed

A sharedObject acts like a web cookie does for a normal html site, every visitor to your online swf would automatically create their own unique version of the sharedObject on their HDD.