http://forums.adobe.com/people/GandalfWM
Spamming the Reader forums with this message;
Please do NOT send me any more e-mail.
This guy posts useless links of his sites.
<http://forums.adobe.com/people/komissarenko>
In one posts in reply to Noel Carboni, he posted a link to his dating agency. See photoshop forum.
Self promotional links to commercial sites (both in the same thread):
Find a sugar baby at his link:
<http://forums.adobe.com/people/vklein>
The question is simply a means to by-pass the spam links.
And another: http://forums.adobe.com/people/mgq123
One and only (so far) message is a long spam
http://forums.adobe.com/people/mgq123In the Feedback forum selling clothes. http://forums.adobe.com/thread/893739?tstart=0
This post in itself does not look like spam, but it is just not correct either:
http://forums.adobe.com/message/3877333#3877333
http://forums.adobe.com/people/FreshGraphics2011
Thanks,
Niall
Is a member a spammer if he posts links to a free software solution that solves a problem identified in threads?
Thing is, he's done this for every old thread he could find in the archives...
http://forums.adobe.com/people/alfie69
I can't help but get the feeling there's some kind of ulterior motive here... Maybe he's the author and he's going to offer a paid upgrade at some point?
-Noel
Noel Carboni wrote:
...I can't help but get the feeling there's some kind of ulterior motive here... Maybe he's the author and he's going to offer a paid upgrade at some point?
One does not typically host a free, GPL, open source project on code.google.com with ulterior motives.
XNView is a well-established program and this Explorer thumbnail program which uses the same graphic library appears to be fine. That graphic library is free for non-commercial projects like this thumbnail viewer.
Believe it or not, some people offer things out of the goodness of their heart. ![]()
Marian Driscoll wrote:
Noel Carboni wrote:
...I can't help but get the feeling there's some kind of ulterior motive here... Maybe he's the author and he's going to offer a paid upgrade at some point?
One does not typically host a free, GPL, open source project on code.google.com with ulterior motives.
XNView is a well-established program and this Explorer thumbnail program which uses the same graphic library appears to be fine. That graphic library is free for non-commercial projects like this thumbnail viewer.
Believe it or not, some people offer things out of the goodness of their heart.
Posting on an active thread is helpful. Digging up a few might be considered very helpful.
All he's doing is posting a link.
Digging up all known old threads on the subject seems very aggressive, and one starts to wonder if there's motivation by something besides the desire to be helpful. Is this is an author who has plans to convert to donationware or find some way to monetize it in the future, or offer other things for sale on the site? I don't know, is there an advantage to search-engine-optimizing one's Google page ranking?
I don't know code.google.com from Adam. I use Google search, but try to stay away from most of the rest of Google. Google is the very definition of "ulterior motive" in my book.
-Noel
pwillener wrote:
I agree; posting links as a "solution" to 3 or 4 year old topics is more than aggressive.
That thread should be locked then. We really don't want people to be helpful here. ![]()
These past few posts are a bit insane.
I've seen many more mentions from Noel about the commercial software that he uses to view previews in Explorer than this poster has offered for a free software. If anything is suspect, it is someone who has incessantly posted praise for a commercial software and who now complains about a handful of posts from someone suggesting a fairly capable freeware option. Is Noel a commercial software developer who is threatened by GPL?
Marian Driscoll wrote:
Is Noel a commercial software developer who is threatened by GPL?
Threatened? Not hardly. I develop commercial software, but I don't push it here, and I have no intention to ever sell a thumbnail program.
I do mention programs I have purchased/downloaded and feel are a good value when people ask about them. I have never gone and dredged up 8 old threads just to post a link.
Maybe he was being helpful, and maybe not. You can't say any more than I can, but what I can say is that I recognize something that's not typical. You'll note that in my first post above on the subject I explained the situation, and explained that I felt his postings looked suspicious. Hell, for all we know maybe he's trying to harvest Photoshop user eMail addresses with it or something. I know I created a virtual machine snapshot just to install it to look around, then deleted that snapshot.
Getting a bit hissy about this, aren't you Marian?
-Noel
Noel Carboni wrote:
...
Getting a bit hissy about this, aren't you Marian?
Meh. I wasn't the one raising a stink. I was just musing at the hypocrisy of one helpful poster trying to shut down another helpful poster when both have been guilty of suggesting a good program. ![]()
Wasn't me who used the term "insane".
And you've posted plenty of times in the spam thread to "try to shut down" plenty of other people. I don't see a big difference. We're all here to try to keep the quality of the forum up.
In any case, it looks like the admin has used his good judgment and let the posts stand.
Don't forget to post back if/when alfie's software delivers its payload.
-Noel
Noel Carboni wrote:
...We're all here to try to keep the quality of the forum up...
Which is why it seems a bit insane that you would want to shut down a tip for free software that solves a particular problem. I have never tried to shut down someone offering on-topic free software.
Would it be appropriate to suggest that your software has 'payloads'? Lighten up. Grow up. The world is not as suspect as you make it.
Is Noel carrying on an insane personal issue?
Note the question mark, Noel. Get over yourself. You raised an issue several days ago because you had no clue what code.google.com was and a moderator followed your uninformed suspicion. It is done. We've moved on.
![]()
Lighten up.
ProDesignTools is also a trusted Adobe partner, so on the surface, it might look spammy (?), it's legit, and publicising an event, that Adobe is participating in.
This event is also sponsored by Adobe in UK:
<https://www.eiseverywhere.com/ereg/index.php?eventid=27026&>
I wanted to post alink to Dreamweaver Forum but decided not to just in case it is considered to be a spam. Adobe executives are taking part in the event.
Not exactly spam, but will a MOD please go to message 8 here http://forums.adobe.com/thread/727580?tstart=0 and remove the sig-line crap?
the_wine_snob wrote:
Dave,
ProDesignTools is also a trusted Adobe partner, so on the surface, it might look spammy (?), it's legit, and publicising an event, that Adobe is participating in.
Hunt
ok, but does that make it ok? it still smells like pork! ![]()
can they just plop advertising down in any and every forum? in any post? if adobe says yea, then i guess it's ok. <shrug> thanks for the info bill.
North America
Europe, Middle East and Africa
Asia Pacific