Skip navigation
This discussion is archived
Currently Being Moderated

anti deconvolution - ACR Capture Sharpening

Jul 27, 2011 6:49 PM

anti deconvolution - ACR Capture Sharpening

I cannot remember where I came across this word "anti deconvolution" (likely years back debating here about how best to use Capture Sharpening). I am considering making training videos on "The Ultimate Sharpening Workflow for Fine Art Prints" and want to make sure what I am saying is sound and maybe even accurate! So I am double checking my facts.

I believe I was told by someone here that when the Capture Sharpening Radius is set to 0.5 and the detail set to 100 (with the appropriate amount dialed in) that it does something called "anti deconvolution" and can actually extract a very small amount of real detail (as apposed to simply sharpening halos) out of a raw file.

Is that a sound statement?

BTW, I am a professional landscape photographer (big fine art enlargements) and my preferred way to use capture sharpening is by double/triple processing raw files for various areas then masking them accordingly in PS. But since I am almost always trying to emphasize the ultra fine high frequency details in an image (except sky's and soft moving water) I have found that:

Amount (varying)

Radius 0.5

Detail 100

Masking  (varying)

Has worked best for me.

Cheers.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 27, 2011 8:35 PM   in reply to ACRFREAK

It's not "anti deconvolution"...it's called simply deconvolution kernel sharpening...similar to the Smart Sharpen's lens correction. ACR, with Detail set above 50, is a simple sharpening using a generic point spread function (PSF). Ya might want to google it...oh, and it works regardless of the radius setting. The deconvolution is dependent on the Detail slider, not the radius.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 28, 2011 8:06 AM   in reply to Jeff Schewe

Jeff

> ACR, with Detail set above 50