Skip navigation
Imperius Rex
Currently Being Moderated

iCloud Data Storage Guidelines

Sep 18, 2011 8:12 AM

We just got this message from Apple. I'm not a developer by trade, I'm a designer, but I don't recall seeing anywhere in the CS 5.5 App development process that allowed for the level of specificity they are referring to below. Is this something that needs to be handled by Adobe or is there some place in the Apple Developer Portal that these changes can be made?

"

Dear Developer,

In recent testing it appears that your app, XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, stores a fair amount of data in its Documents folder.

Since iCloud backups are performed daily over Wi-Fi for each user's iOS device, it's important to ensure the best possible user experience by minimizing the amount of data being stored by your app.

In addition to purchased music, apps, books, Camera roll, and device settings, everything in your app's home directory, including its Documents folder, is backed up to iCloud.

Data stored in the application bundle itself, the caches directory, and the temp directory is not backed up to iCloud. Your app should store data in these locations according to the iCloud Data Storage Guidelines on <http://developer.apple.com/icloud/documentation/data-storage/>.

Please review these guidelines, make any required changes to your app, and submit an update to the App Store.

If you're not the technical contact for your app, please make sure this email gets to your development team.

If you have any questions concerning this information, please let me know.

Thanks for developing for iOS!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Sep 19, 2011 9:50 AM   in reply to Imperius Rex

Adobe will have to handle this. We are aware that several publishers have recieved this email from Apple and we are investigating.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 4, 2011 9:55 AM   in reply to Imperius Rex