Hi, I am getting emails, supposedly from Adobe, offering me a free download of PDF2012 Reader/Writer/Converter (because of my previous custom!). I can't find anything about this product on the Adobe website; Does anyone know if it is a phishing con? jimcfeb
Definitely a phishing scam. See our Acrobat Family product matrix - http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/matrix.html .
Got one today too.
Not sure how this could be a phishing scam: the links go to a subdomain of ticketmaster.com, and don't seem to be asking for any sensitive info. If the links point to pages with malicious payload - congrats to hackers for infecting ticketmaster.com:
[Edited by forum host - malicious links removed]
Adobe apparently warned people of a phishing scam in 2010, but this doesn't look like phishing - more like malicious payload (worm) attack.
Email scams preporting to link to new versions of Adobe Reader are very common, and often get the product names wrong (there's no such thing as "Acrobat Reader" and certainly no 2012 edition). You should never follow the links in these emails, nor open any attachments.
Adobe Reader is available from the Adobe.com website, and other official sites (such as CNET) will link you directly to the Adobe.com server even though they list the software on their index. You should never download and install Adobe software from any other website.
North America
Europe, Middle East and Africa
Asia Pacific