Skip navigation
callmecollin
Currently Being Moderated

Questions on designing a font

Oct 26, 2011 9:03 AM

Hey,

My name is Collin. I'm a sophomore in high school, and I am thinking about going into a career of graphic design. I love art, and logo design. I actually just got done making a tshirt a day ago. Recently I have been extremely intrigued with fonts, and the effect fonts can have on a design's mood and feel. I would really like to play around with some font ideas. I know that the software for this can be pretty darn expensive, and I dont really feel like paying for it. I do have CS5.5 design standard, if that helps, but i dont think it does.

I'm just looking for some guidance on where to go with this, if anyone could help I would be immensly appreciative.

Also, if anyone would like to share ANY ANY advice about graphic design, I would really appreciate it. ANYTHING!

Thanks guys,

Collin

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 26, 2011 2:40 PM   in reply to callmecollin

Collin,

For purposes like those described, you may simply create the lettershapes, or change the shapes/appearances of letters of existing fonts.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 27, 2011 8:33 AM   in reply to callmecollin

If you want to create and edit fonts, there is a very capable, yet free, program:

http://fontforge.sourceforge.net/

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 28, 2011 6:53 PM   in reply to callmecollin