Expand my Community achievements bar.

Initial View is disabled on a Form created in LiveCycle ES2

Level 2

Hi,

I am trying to change the preferences using the Initial View tool in Acrobat.  I want to set it to open with bookmarks visible.  However, the entire initial view page is disabled for me.  The PDF is one that I created myself using LiveCycle Designer ES2.  I am using Acrobat Pro X.  Why would this functionality be disabled?

Thanks,

Nicole

7 Replies

Level 2

Thank you for your link. Unfortunately, I am not a developer and that was like a foreign language to me.  Is it possible to accomplish the same from a LiveCycle menu?

The view of a document can be set in manifold ways in Acrobat/Reader.

If single page, 2-up continious, with bookmarks panel, fit to width etc..

A lot is possible, but only with the menu.

JavaScript enables control of all these things from within a XFA-form.

Therefore the properties of the viewState object are used.

overViewMode controls the panels and full screen mode.

pageViewLayoutMode controls the page layout.

pageViewZoom controls the zoom level.

pageViewZoomType controls the zoom adaption to the application window.

This properties can be changes through a button script or the docReady:event of the form.

So you're able to control the initial view of the form.

event.target.viewState = {overViewMode:3};
event.target.viewState = {PageViewLayoutMode:1};
event.target.viewState = {PageViewZoom:0.75};
event.target.viewState = {PageViewZoomType:1};

Level 10

If you don't want to use scriptings you can use this macro.

It allows you to set up bookmarks in LiveCycle Designer through a dialog.

http://thelivecycle.blogspot.com/2011/09/xfa-bookmarks.html

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-ypSr8WuhbFk/TotX1VNTslI/AAAAAAAAAUQ/sLy0ZDlEkE8/s1600/LCB_Bookmarker_V06_step1.png

Level 2

Hello,