Skip navigation
kd58
Currently Being Moderated

What do I need in a Mac to run Premiere Pro CS5.5?

Nov 21, 2011 4:38 PM

I am a student and I have about $3000 to spend on a computer. I would like to go with a Mac.

I say this so you can answer understanding that I'm not a professional, but would like to be one day.

So I want to get the most for my money and be able to edit my film from my avchd camcorder.

I would like it to it to run fast and later to learn After Effects.

Can someone suggest a Mac configuration that would be around my budget and have good performance?

Replies 1 2 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 21, 2011 5:16 PM   in reply to kd58

Here's some information that will help you to make an informed decision:

FAQ: What computer and components should I buy for Premiere Pro or After Effects?

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 21, 2011 5:56 PM   in reply to kd58

Unfortunately, the Mac that you will need will cost you far higher than your $3,000 budget. This is because the only Mac Pros with the recommended specs (as far as storage, CPU and RAM) will cost you at least $5,000. And none of the Macs of any size is available at all with an Nvidia GPU, so as of now you're stuck with an ATi GPU or an integrated Intel graphics. (In CS5.x, the MPE GPU accelerated mode works only with Nvidia GPUs - and does not support ATi GPUs at all. Thus, a system with an ATi GPU will be permanently stuck in MPE software-only mode unless Adobe decides to support OpenCL with a software update.)