Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

which version of html and css should I learn

Nov 22, 2011 7:02 AM

I want to learn html and css.  I google and asked the question of which I should learn first.  Most of the responses said it doesn't make much difference.  I did get several different answers as to what version of those I should learn.  I'm a beginner so what forms of html and css should I learn to get a better handle on DW.

thanks

Mike

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 22, 2011 7:06 AM   in reply to squatch97401

You should learn the version that is currently embraced by the W3C as a Standard.  That would be HTML 4.01, and CSS2.  Knowing those will position you well for a segue into HTML5 and CSS3 (neither of which are so different than what you have learned already), as soon as they become the standard.

You can get a great deal of information from the http://www.w3schools.com site about these.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 22, 2011 7:43 AM   in reply to squatch97401

Hours?  Depending on how well you intend to learn this stuff, you would need weeks, not hours.  That's not because it's hard, there's just alot to plow through, and you will need lots of hands on experimentation.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 22, 2011 8:05 AM   in reply to MurraySummers

Murray *ACP* wrote:

Hours?  Depending on how well you intend to learn this stuff, you would need weeks, not hours.  That's not because it's hard, there's just alot to plow through, and you will need lots of hands on experimentation.

I've been at this for eight years, and I'm STILL learning things every week.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 22, 2011 8:05 AM   in reply to squatch97401

It really depends on how thoroughly you do the tutorials (yes, that's what I meant).

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 22, 2011 1:13 PM   in reply to Curtis_E_Flush

I've been at this for eight years, and I'm STILL learning things every week.