Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Exporting indd to idml

Nov 30, 2011 4:43 AM

Tags: #cs5 #export #idml

Hello,

I'm a translator and am trying to convert an indd file to idml, so that it can be read by my CAT-tool (the text is send to the translation application, translated, and sent back to the idml file, at the same place in the same format. only the language has changed).

how do i do that? when i go to file => export => idml format (osx) all I get is a little file of 4 kb in size, while the indd original is 450 MB.

I need help and am grateful for it!

thanks in advance...

camembert

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 30, 2011 5:13 AM   in reply to camem_bert

CS4 or CS5 (.5)?

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 30, 2011 5:23 AM   in reply to camem_bert

That sounds about right. .idml is really a zip archive of xml files, and is very compact. I don't know anything about the translation business, so I don't know if you need to expand the archive to work with the tool or not, but Joel Cherney, one of our semi-regulars is an expert inthe field and has been visible in the past couple of days, so there's a pretty good chance he'll see this later today and offer some further advice or ask for clarification.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 30, 2011 5:28 AM   in reply to Peter Spier

yeah Ive noticed the significant file size reduction but never that small...(checked C5.5) havent checked with cs4 yet... (for decrease to such a small idml)

G

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 30, 2011 5:55 AM   in reply to Grant H

I’d be way more concerned about the INDD file size than the IDML size.

450 megs is a disaster waiting to happen.

Bob

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 30, 2011 6:44 AM   in reply to Bob Levine

Bob Levine wrote:

I’d be way more concerned about the INDD file size than the IDML size.

450 megs is a disaster waiting to happen.

It would explain the tiny tiny IDML size. Images, remember, are not stored inside an IDML.

|
    Mark as: