Skip navigation
AwdatPazzles
Currently Being Moderated

Close Button ('X') on UI extension

Dec 2, 2011 9:06 AM

Let me first state that I am very new to Flex/Flash/Illustrator.  So please forgive me if I use the wrong terms or concepts.  Using Illustrator CS5.1, Flex 3.6 SDK in Flash Builder 4.5, and Visual Studio 2010.

Some background.  I am developing a hybrid plugin for Adobe Illustrator.  The plugin is C++ and interfaces with a hardware device and an UI extension built on Flex/Flash.  It uses the CSXS library (version 2.0 based on Flex 3.4 SDK) to perform the communication between the extension and the plugin.

When the UI extension closes, I need the plugin to perform some tasks.  These tasks might be related to Illustrator and/or to the device it communicates with.  If the UI is closed using a button I add to the UI, the plugin runs the tasks as needed.  If the UI is closed using the 'X' button in the corner of the window, I can not get the CSXS interface dispatch events to carry over to the plugin.  This is the same dispatch events used from the UI button that I manually created and works fine.

I have tried capturing the exiting event from the NativeApplication and I do see myself entering the associated function to that capture.  The dispatch events run but I do not enter the corresponding functions in the plugin.

Below is one of several attempts at making this work (believe this was found on the Adobe forums):

public function init() : void

{

NativeApplication.nativeApplication.addEventListener(Event.EXITING, windowedapplication1_closingHandler);

}

protected function windowedapplication1_closingHandler(event:Event):void

{

event.preventDefault();

//event.stopImmediatePropagation();

CSXSInterface.getInstance().dispatchEvent(new CSXSEvent("com.testui.events.closing", CSXSEventScope.APPLICATION));

}

Again, windowedapplication1_closingHandler will process but the dispatched event is not seen by my plugin (when the 'X' is clicked).