Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Bridge: Release as a Standalone application

Dec 19, 2011 5:56 PM

Brett N, an employee of Photoshop Family, commented on a reply in Bridge: Release as a Standalone application, an idea about Photoshop Family.

I, too, think that Bridge has long been underestimated and underutilized. I think you bring up a good point and we'll see if others agree. But your idea is now on the radar.

hi all

i too agree that ADOBE underestimates the usefulness and the popularity of a stand alone BRIDGE  program.

i am a stock photographer ( both royalty free and licensed) using INTEL MAC OSX 10.6.8  and i have on my computers 60,000 to 100,000 files.  

these files collected over 30 years, are every format, some scanned slides, some NIKON (nefs) RAWS, and of course TIFFS and JPGS. 

BRIDGE in the only useful and easily used program out there that lets me, for example, simultaneously select on my MAC hundreds of files types, duplicate them all at once, add keywords, titles, picture info, and then move them in a group to another folder or networked computers.

Many many users have similar stories --- Love the BRIDGE PROGRAM, but dont need the sophistication of PHOTOSHOP. 

i have tried  all the main program--- light room, aperture, organizer, etc.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 20, 2011 11:06 AM   in reply to david iushewitz

You have 100,000 images,but dont need photoshop? Personally i have never been that dazzled by bridge,but its what i use anyway because its free,so i would not buy it as an extra item. I have quite a few images on my computer as well, but bridge can still act quirky from time to time in my experience.On my work machine,bridge will randomly freeze while trying to move images to another folder,so i force quit it 3 or 4 times till it miraculously works as it should.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 20, 2011 12:27 PM   in reply to Donald Reese