Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

How do you collapse a blank area of a pdf form?

Dec 31, 2011 2:10 PM

I'm new to acrobat x pro and javascript, and am working on a Mac.  I'm working on a form that has hidden fields that become visible when an item is choosen in a drop down box.  When the fields are hidden there is a large white area where the fields are with permanantly visible are half way down the page.  I would like those fields to be moved up until the drop box selection is made.

How do I collapse this white area where the hidden fields are until they corresponding item is choosen from the drop down?   Once the hidden fields are visible the permanantly visible fields are moved back down the page?

Any help would be really appreciated!!!

Replies
  • DimitriM
    172 posts
    Dec 11, 2007
    Dec 31, 2011 4:17 PM   in reply to cane00019

Hi cane00019,

In order to have the type of dynamic feature you describe, you need to create your PDF form in LiveCycle Designer, not Acrobat X.  This can't be done in an AcroForm (created in Acrobat).  Unfortunately, LiveCycle Designer is a WIndows only program.

Hope this helps,

Dimitri

WindJack Solutions

www.windjack.com

www.pdfscripting.com

|
    Mark as:
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 1, 2012 12:10 AM   in reply to DimitriM

With all due respect, Dimitri, it can be done in AcroForms. It requires a little bit of programming, but it is possible and it is in productive use.

Max Wyss.

|
    Mark as:
  • George Johnson
    11,676 posts
    Aug 11, 2002
    Jan 1, 2012 12:38 AM   in reply to maxwyss

Max,

I directed him here so you would show him how to do it.

Happy New Year!

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 1, 2012 6:53 AM   in reply to cane00019