• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to resize text container efficiently?

Contributor ,
Jan 19, 2012 Jan 19, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm new to TLF and have managed to put together a small test project to try out right-to-left support. Maybe due to the overwhelming number of classes and APIs I am struggling a bit to create the equivalent of an autoresizing text field which grows as the user adds new text to it.

I have a container (a canvas) to which I add my TextFlow. Example:

textFlow = new TextFlow();

textFlow.direction = Direction.RTL;

var p:ParagraphElement = new ParagraphElement();

var s:SpanElement = new SpanElement();

textFlow.addChild(p);

p.addChild(s);

s.text = "وثيقة إثبات صلة القرابة مصدقة من سفارة دولة الإمارات – إذا لم يكن اسم المكفول مدرجاً في جواز سفر";

textFlow.flowComposer.addController(new ContainerController(this, container.width, container.height));

textFlow.flowComposer.updateAllControllers();

This works fine. Now I'd like the user to be able to add more text and grow the canvas container so that it fits the size of the text contained within. What's the best way to do that? Is there an Event I can listen to that informs me once new text has been added? If so, where should I look?

My plan was to then update the container size with logic along this line:

var controller:ContainerController = textFlow.flowComposer.getControllerAt(0);

var rec:Rectangle = controller.getContentBounds();

_container.width = rec.width;

_container.height = rec.height;

controller.setCompositionSize( _container.width, _container.height );

Am I on the right track here? Unfortunately I cannot use the Spark components in this project since this logic is contained within a custom MX component.

Regards,

Stefan

TOPICS
Text layout framework

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines