Skip navigation
EdIsenberg
Currently Being Moderated

Circles w/o outlines, lines disappear

Jan 29, 2012 2:19 PM

Tags: #line #lines #disappear #circle #vanish #elements_10 #circles

I am new to drawing using APsE, so pardon me if this is a stupid question.

I am having a terrible time drawing a complex segmented circle. The outer circle I got from a file. I then drew 3-pixel black lines dividing the circle into 12 pie-shaped regions.

Problem 1: I wanted an inner circle that would be transparent fill but have a normal 3-pixel outline. Any circle I draw can have a black or white fill (but not a transparent one), and there doesn't seem to be any way to have the circle edge be black. The menu item Edit/Stroke Outline would seem to be the answer but it is always dimmed.

Temporary solution: I made the inner circle black-filled, then added another slightly smaller white-filled circle, and moved the latter over the black-filled circle so only the thin black outer edge showed, effectively giving me a circle with a black edge.

Problem 2: I still needed those 3-pixed lines dividing the inner circle into pie-shaped segments that matched the outer circle. I can draw only 1 pixel-wide lines (wider lines disappear - why is this?), but as soon as I draw a third line the second line disappears. For example, I can draw vertical and horizontal lines, but as soon as I draw a line 30 degrees off-vertical it one of the other lines disappears.

Temporary solution: None

I believe I went wrong when I started doing multiple circles. I would have no problem if I could just make an inner circle with the edge showing black but the inside being transparent.

BTW, I want to then select, in the inner circle, alternating pie shapes and filling them with black. If you see I am going to get into trouble doing that please let me know and offer a solution.

Thanks. I'm quite good at computers but graphics is like color to a blind person.