Skip navigation
the-mouse-house
Currently Being Moderated

Newbie to colour management- help!!

Jan 31, 2012 12:51 AM

Tags: #color-management

Hi guys, I'm a completely clueless newbie to colour management and am pretty much tearing my hair out in frustration and confusion... an advice would be greatly appreciated.

Basically I've made a poster using a color somewhat close to 'Tiffany Blue'... turquoise, slightly on the green side. The default embedded profile is sRGB. I'm worried as to how the final product is going to look in print because when I changed my monitor color display profile from the default LCD Color to sRGB, the color comes out, well, just blue. Am I right to say that setting my monitor display to sRGB will also show me more or less the results I will get in print by using sRGB?

What's the best way for me to attain the turquiose-green color I was aiming for?

Many thanks in advance!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 31, 2012 2:50 PM   in reply to the-mouse-house

No, the document profile and the monitor profile are two different animals, serving two different purposes. They should not be the same, under any circumstances, because each describes a different color space.

The sRGB profile in your document defines the colors in an absolute sense. Or said another way, the file is in the sRGB color space.

Your monitor has a different color space. To display correctly, the RGB numbers need to be translated into that color space. So you have a monitor profile that describes the monitor color space.

This translation is what color management does, by converting from one profile to another, thereby preserving the color appearance. Color management is about preserving color intent across different spaces and devices.