Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Targeting a nested symbol's timeline?

Feb 19, 2012 7:49 AM

Hello, I'm new to Edge, Javascript and HTML5 (coming from Director/Flash/After Effects background) I'm wondering if there's a way to target a nested symbol from a button. I would like to make a simple Pause/Play toggle button that stops a nested symbol is it's playing and plays it if is stopped. In software's I'm familitar with, this can be done with a simple target path and  if/else conditional statement, but I can't find any examples that don't seem much more complicated. If you don't mind, could you please be specific as to where the code goes, as I'm new to this and don't yet have a grasp of the file structure? Thank you very much, I really appreciate your help

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 20, 2012 5:25 AM   in reply to kalibahlu

Hey,

To access the timeline of a nested symbol, use the following in your event:

sym.getSymbol("symbolName").getSymbol("nestedElementName").play();

You can also access elements within a nested symbol from the stage. For example:

sym.getSymbol("kitten_1").getSymbol("kitten_paw").$("paw").hide();// Hides the element “paw” from within a nested symbol

Hope that helps!

Sarah

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 20, 2012 8:05 AM   in reply to kalibahlu

No problem, good luck with your project!

Sarah

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 20, 2012 4:40 PM   in reply to sarhunt

This clarified things for me as well; thanks Sarah.

I am also new to JS and Jquery.  How would you target the parent of a nested symbol from the child of that symbol.  And also...  how would you then target an alternate nested symbol of the parent... and ultimately the child of that nested symbol... if you see what I mean

I have a button on the stage and wish to have another symbol(Symbol A) change position (tween) when the button is pressed.  At the same time I wish to start the timeline of one of Symbol A's nested symbols.

Getting myself notted up with the syntax.