Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

What's better than Illustrator?

Feb 19, 2012 10:13 AM

I've been using Illustrator for many years and several versions.  My usage is nominal and occasional/once a week, and I don't get very sophisticated for my needs, so it has been OK so far. I do not do commercial work but know Ai is the "de-facto std".

But I read this forum often and see many criticisms of Ai and I do have occasional issues with Illy with tools and UI....just not as easy or robust as it could/should be...cumbersome at times.

I see JET and others here make great use of Illy but also criticize (justifiably) it for not being as good as other vector tools.

I know there are competitors, Inkscape is free, others less costly than Illy; and seemingly better/easier/faster to use...at least for some things.

So my question: What is better than Illustrator (I'm using CS5) and why? What can they do better than Ai?  Is it worth having a second program and learning (tho I suspect the learning curve should be easy as they do similar things but have different GUI).  Or replacing Illy with something?

Pro's/Con's that would make one make the effort to try/use something else?  I don't even know what out there is better than Illy.  I've searched www and got a few hints but nothing very significant.

Am I wasting my time looking?

Your feedback welcomed to help me decide whether to explore/trial other programs.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 19, 2012 1:03 PM   in reply to Doug.S

You need to deeply specify your requirements in order to get a serious answer.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 19, 2012 1:20 PM   in reply to Doug.S

I think that you need to more fully define your needs as Kurt mentions.

For most everything I do that using Illy is not a requirement, I far prefer Xara Designer Pro. Some things I can only do in Illustrator without work-arounds in XDP, and yet some work I can do in Serif DrawPlus form start to finish.