Skip navigation
Strobelight77
Currently Being Moderated

Motion Tracker losing track

Feb 24, 2012 1:16 PM

Tags: #after #effects #track #motion #tracker #losing

Hi,

I'm new to AE and just running some simple tests with the motion tracker.  I'm running into all kinds of trouble on something I think shouldn't be that big of a deal.

Here is an example - I've tried single and multiple black dots on a well-lit hand.  Regarless of tracker settings, number of tracking points, or size of the tracker it ALWAYS loses the track quite significantly (see image below).

tracker test.jpg

What am I doing wrong?

Much appreciated!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 24, 2012 1:55 PM   in reply to Strobelight77

AE's Online Help has good instructions and good advice to follow when motion tracking.  Since you're new, it wouldn't help much to write this stuff out in AE Lexicon, because you wouldn't understand it!  There's a lot to the process, so you might as well have pictures to go along with words.

Here's an overview of the process.

Here's the workflow to follow.

Here's how to correct a motion track. Problems like yours above happen all the time.

The overview especially has some very helpful links.  And take the time to read this stuff carefully, okay?  It's easy to get lost when you're new. Read them in the order they appear.

And since you're new, this is also extremely helpful:

http://blogs.adobe.com/toddkopriva/2010/01/getting-started-with-after- eff.html

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 25, 2012 5:05 AM   in reply to Strobelight77

Your tracking areas are most likely way too small. This looks like standard def video and it looks quite compressed. All of that noise, the compression artifacts, and the tiny tracking areas confuse the tracker because it's averaging the pixel information in the track area, not looking at a single point.