Skip navigation
JJfutbol
Currently Being Moderated

Sharing Violation: Editing CSS files

Sep 7, 2006 7:04 AM

I used Dreamweaver 8 for my XHTML/CSS and ColdFusion development. Whenever I work locally I have CF setup so I just run my CFM files from DW8 by hitting F12 to view them in Firefox. The CFM files that link to a CSS file is what I edit and save while viewing my pages in Firefox as well. Lets say I have user.cfm viewable in my browser. I edit and save any changes to the file in DW8 just fine with no errors and I can hit F5 to refresh my browser and see my changes, but thats not the case with CSS files. Whenever I edit a CSS file that CFM file I'm viewing is using and then try to save it I can't as I get a sharing violation error. This has really started to get on my nerves and is driving me up the wall as I'm a designer and not just a developer. I hate having to close the tab with the CFM page I'm viewing in Firefox, wait several seconds, and then save my CSS file in DW8 and then hit F12 on the CFM file again. I have to do this everytime but no idea why I get that sharing violation error. Anyone has had anything similar?? Any idea how to get rid of it?? It only happens to me with CSS files.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 21, 2007 11:07 PM   in reply to JJfutbol
    I'm having the same problem, has there been any solution since previous post.

In DW8, I have 2 files open, somefile.cfm and cssfile.css (file names irrelevant) and also have IE open with the page somefile.cfm (so that I can preview the changes just by hitting F5). I can make changes to the CFM file, save it and hit F5 in IE and all OK, BUT when I make any changes to the CSS file and try to save it, it comes up with the error "A Sharing violation occurred while access C:\path-to-file\cssfile.css".

The only way around it is to close IE and the CFM file, wait, then save the CSS, then reopen IE (or F12) etc. This is extremely annoying. Anyone got any ideas???

|
    Mark as: