Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Samsung S24A850DW monitor?

Feb 25, 2012 7:34 PM

Hi Guys

I'm an event/concert photographer currently using a decent enough consumer grade monitor and wanting to upgrade to something more professional.

99% of my output is for the screen, personal websites, social networking - you know the one! LOL! - etc, and probably 75% of my output is B&W.

I'm using Photoshop CS5 and my OS is Win7 Pro 64 Bit.

I've been looking at the Samsung S24A850DW  and wondered if anyone here has had any experience with one, or based on its features and spec would you consider it a good "Photoshop monitor."

Thanks in advance

Paul

Replies 1 2 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 26, 2012 2:19 AM   in reply to pf22

pf22 wrote:

would you consider it a good "Photoshop monitor."

Yes, absolutely. This is the new PLS technology from Samsung, which is similar to IPS with wide viewing angles without color or gamma shift.

The usual caveats apply: look very carefully for uneven color or brightness across the screen. This is much more widespread than you would believe, even in supposedly high-end models. If possible, test that particular unit before you bring it home. If that's not possible, check the return policy.

This is a standard gamut monitor, but I wouldn't worry too much about that. Wide gamut is nice (I have one at work), but it's in no way critical. Other things are much more important. All in all, it looks similar to e.g. the Dell U2412, HP ZR24w, or the one I have at home, Eizo EV2335. These are all IPS.

I'd be interested in hearing your experiences, if you buy it.

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 26, 2012 4:20 AM   in reply to pf22

One other thing: We have been discussing monitor calibration a bit lately. I don't know if you have a calibrator.