Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Is Lightroom Worth having?

Feb 29, 2012 9:29 PM

Hi All...

I have the CS5 Web Premium Suite and it includes Photoshop CS5 Extended...  Is/Are there any differences with lightroom which would make me purchase it?  Any Added Benefits...

Me...  I'm a web designer but also a sometimes photographer...  But Not professionally.  Should I buy Lightroom if I have Photoshop CS5 Extended?  What functionality would it offer me I don't have with Photoshop CS5 Extended?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 1, 2012 1:14 AM   in reply to Prodigy9

LR3 does three basic things - it catalogs all your images, it applies 'processing', and it creates exported media (prints and web galleries). LR4 adds more features such as GPS tagging. LR can't be directly-compared to PS as it doesn't aim to do the same things, but it can be compared to Bridge:

• The catalog system is a database rather than a file browser (which you get with Bridge), so it can index offline content on external drives, etc.
    • Everything LR does to an image in the processing panel is nondestructive, so it doesn't alter your original file - unlike in PS. This means you have much more freedom to experiment, and creating many 'virtual copies' of an image doesn't eat your disk space.
    • The print and web export features in LR are way more powerful and flexible than in Bridge.
    • PS, Bridge and LR can process raw images, and they use the same Camera Raw engine - so the effects are the same - however LR's noise reduction and toning controls are considered to be much better than the tools in CR or PS.
    • Bridge will browse pretty much anything (images of any kind, PDFs, video, PDF, InDesign, etc.) - LR only indexes photos and video.
    • Both LR and Bridge can import files from your digital camera, plus LR has the option of tethered shooting for a few models.