Skip navigation
peterattrsb
Currently Being Moderated

help with forms

Feb 29, 2012 2:47 PM

I am quite new to Dreamewaver CS4 and I am presently working my way through the book by Jeffery Bardzell "training from the source. I have reached lesson 5 "passing data between pages. I have created the first and last name text fields on the form and then run the form through the server. I works fine and displays the first and last names on the form processor ie "thank you ,john smith, for filling out my form" The book then tells me to open the form processor and it should look like "thank you ,, for filling out my form, however it displays:

Thank You, Notice: undifined index:firstName in c:\xampp\htdocs\newland\test_form_processor.php on line 9.

undifined index lastName in c:\xampp\htdocs\newland\test_form_processor.php on line 9

,for filling out my form.

Could someone tell me what i have done wrong. I followed the book word for word and i have also checked the code on my page with the code on the "completed lesson" on the CD. theyr'e both identical.

Any help would be apreciated

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 29, 2012 3:28 PM   in reply to peterattrsb

Have you been in touch with Jefferey Bardzell, after all he is the one that sold the book to you.

Failing that, you could show your code for us to see.

Gramps

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 29, 2012 4:23 PM   in reply to peterattrsb

peterattrsb User  

Not sure how to do that. Iv'e tried copy and paste but the paste doesn't work on this

I have just copied and pasted your last post. Not sure why it does not work for you. Please remember that for the PC you can paste using ctrl-v

Gramps

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 1, 2012 3:35 PM   in reply to peterattrsb

When you view the document in a browser, the URL will show

c:\xampp\htdocs\newland\test_form_processor.php

or similar. If we add the URL variables that the document asks for, Bob's your uncle. Add the highlighted as in