Skip navigation
Doug_newuser
Currently Being Moderated

Scrolling Text is Rough

Mar 6, 2012 9:28 AM

Tags: #scrolling #text #premiere_elements_10 #rough

I am new to Adobe Premiere Elements and am struggling to add some smooth scrolling titles with a plain black background.   It makes no difference whether I select any one of the text animation presets or the roll/crawll options.   To provide background and details for analysis, I have listed out some criteria and settings as below:-

1. I am using Premier Elements V10.0
  2. The work area is rendered.
  3. My preferred output medium is a DVD for a HD PAL TV.   I have also tried other settings such as standard MPEG or WMF or AVI with zero difference.
  4. I have tried different combinations of project settings, my current is HDV 1080i at 25 frames/sec.   You would have thought that 25 frames/sec would scroll text smoothly.
  5. I have tried zooming in to the maximum possible at which point each frame is visible.   I can see the text moving on each frame, although would comment that the amount of movement seems rather a lot, which does make me wonder whether it is simply a function of 25 frames/sec.
  6. There is not a great deal of text, no more than 4 or 5 words over a 6 second timeframe, ideally scrolling across from left to right.   However, I am not terribly hung up about the type of scroll.
  7. I have kept to PAL based settings for both the project and output formats, not sure whether selecting something else might make a difference.
  8. Finally, I have tried changing the field options (none, Interlace consecutive frames, always deinterlace, flicker removal), again with no effect.

I am sure this must be something very simply.   Any suggestions gratefully received.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 6, 2012 9:56 AM   in reply to Doug_newuser